Meet the Guernsey Evacuees

See what’s inside my book here: http://guernseyevacuees.wordpress.com/my-new-book/

To pre order my book ‘Guernsey Evacuees: The Forgotten Evacuees of the Second World War’, from The History Press, go to:
http://rcm-uk.amazon.co.uk/e/cm?lt1=_top&bc1=FFFFFF&IS1=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=guerevacoralh-21&o=2&p=8&l=as1&m=amazon&f=ifr&ref=tf_til&asins=0752470191

MY SECOND BOOK, WHICH CONTAINS 100 BRITISH EVACUATION STORIES (INCLUDING A HANDFUL FROM THE CHANNEL ISLANDS) WILL BE PUBLISHED ON 30 SEPTEMBER 30TH 2014. PLEASE CLICK ON MY ‘BRITISH EVACUEES’ PAGE TO PREVIEW SOME OF THE STORIES AND FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS. http://guernseyevacuees.wordpress.com/britains-evacuees/

SEE MY COMMUNITY GROUP PAGE FOR NEWS OF COMING EVACUEE THEMED EVENTS

This entry was posted in calendar, channel island, cheshire, education, evacuee, heritage, history, oral history, schools, Uncategorized, war. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meet the Guernsey Evacuees

  1. Jean-YvonneEgger says:

    I could not truly be considered an evacuee because I left Guernsey with my Grandmother at the age of 18 months, after several stops, including Coventry, we ended up in Halifax, Yorkshire and I particularly remember one schoolboy friend Ken, we both attended St. Augustines Primary School and an ex pat Pierre, a genuine Guernsey boy who also was in our class. With no more knowledge than this, I don’t except to catch up with them, although it would be terribly exciting if I did… there was also a Yorkshire girl in my class, a then Jean Taylor and I misser her terribly when I returned with my family to Guernsey in July 1945. Jean-Yvonne Collins, then, now Egger and after 42 years in Australia, residing with my Swiss husband in St. Gallen.

    • mbjssgpm says:

      Hello Jean thank you very much for taking the time to share your family experience on my blog. I do hope that someone from Halifax will read this and perhaps recognise
      some of the names you mention. It might be worthwhile sending an email to the Halifax Courier newspaper: newsdesk@halifaxcourier.co.uk Perhaps one of the people you knew will contact you? Gill

  2. Gordon Richardson says:

    I lived in levenshulme, manchester at the time. The manager of the local bread bakety and his wife took in two brothers, eric and patrick fe brach.the lived in caryll grove east. They were very popular with the local boys. I remember going to patricks 8th birthday party in 1945 just before they were returned home. Eric was older, about 11 I think. They were certainly remembered, I know that they were anxious to return home to their island home. I often wandered if they stayed there when they were older.

    • mbjssgpm says:

      Hello Gordon and many thanks for your message. The name Ferbrache rings a bell, and I will check through my records and ask friends in Guernsey if the brothers are still around. If I find out that they are, I will contact you again via email
      with best wishes Gillian

  3. martinebrennan says:

    I love your work Gillian! Today you have been nominated for a One Lovely Blog Award here http://www.martinebrennan.com/my-small-granny-and-other-stories/one-lovely-blog-award-nomination
    Mx

Leave a Reply

